The San Niccolò Tower Reopens
The San Niccolò tower, the city’s only medieval gate to retain its original height, reopened for the season on June 24. Tours of this ancient landmark with a unique view of Florence (€4) will be offered every half hour from 5 to 8 pm in English, Italian, French and Spanish through August 31, and 4 to 7 pm between September 1 – 30.
Just below Piazzale Michelangelo in the Oltrarno quarter of Florence stands the steadfast San Niccolò landmark, the only tower in Florence to retain its original height from 1324. For a mere €4, visitors can enjoy a guided tower of the ancient monument and enjoy a unique view of Florence. To the north, the Arno River slowly rushes by, with Brunelleschi’s red brick dome dominating the skyline, the towers of Palazzo Vecchio and Santa Croce perfectly framing it. To the south, Piazzale Michelangelo’s bronze copy of the David gazes out over terra-cotta rooftops of the residential area beyond the river.
The history of San Niccolò is reflects history of Florence. Built in 1324, it was the easternmost gate of the city, opening its doors for a fee as travelers and merchants alike visited the city. In 1494, when French troops under Charles VIII invaded the city of Florence, most of the towers were truncated to avoid being seen by an approaching army. San Niccolò, however, remained standing, protected and hidden behind the hill of San Miniato. The structure is composed of pietra forte, a local sandstone that represents both fortitude and beauty. To reserve, email firstname.lastname@example.org.
Below the San Niccolò tower is the popular “Easy Living” riverside beach on Lungarno Serristori.